All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven | Book Review

All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven | Book Review
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.
Goodreads

AMAZON

Buy the book from Amazon here!

 

 

I’m a day late returning this book to the library, and the fine I incur is 100% worth it.

This book is one of the few books that make it into the 5+ stars category.

Not to be cliché, but All The Bright Places is ….”all the colors in one, at full brightness.”

I went into reading, “All The Bright Places” blind, not knowing one thing about this book, other than it was Goodreads young adult winner. I can say with complete truth that I am so glad I went in blind because if I knew what this book was about, or knew where it was going, I would never have read it.

All The Bright Places is a sad book. Overall it isn’t, but when you get to the end you will be crying your heart out. You will need a towel to dry your eyes because a tissue just won’t be enough. Don’t let this scare you. It would have scared me and I would not have picked up this incredible book, but I’m so glad that I did.

We start the book out with Theodore and Violet meeting for the first time on top of the school bell tower. Theodore is contemplating if today is the day he should end it, and we don’t know what the heck Violet is doing up there. It is raining and freezing cold outside, making the top of the bell tower even more dangerous. When Theodore see that Violet is having a hard time getting down from where she has perched herself, he comes to her rescue and lets the school population that Violet had come up to talk him down from jumping. The bell tower is where the relationship between Theodore and Violet begins.

Through the book we learn about mental illness and depression. We learn just how dangerous it really is. We also learn that friendship is a beautiful thing and we should embrace others instead of pushing them away. Others are not better off without you here.

Not many of you know this, but I hail from the state of Indiana. All The Bright Places takes us on a journey of discovering Indiana, or wandering Indiana. I lived there for 15 years and did not know any of the places Theodore and Violet visited existed. Of course I lived there from birth to 15 and didn’t have a chance or the know-how to see these places. Back before the internet existed.

Theodore and Violet wander Indiana as part of a school project, but it turns into so much more. We learn about all the amazing places that Indiana has to offer, from the beautiful to the bizarre. I found myself looking the places up and feeling jealous that I missed out on these places when I lived there.

Theodore has a mental illness and suffers from major depression, while Violet has her own demons to battle. The two struck up a friendship during the project and took it from wandering to 2 places in Indiana to much more. It was interesting to read about all the places they went to. One location was this natural rock pool and I want to see it so bad. When I go visit my sister I’m going to have her take me to a couple of locations because Jennifer Niven makes them sound amazing.

I’m not sure how to wrap up this review for the book and convince you to read it, without giving much of the story away. There comes a turning point in the book that takes away the sadness and makes it into a beautiful story. You will still find yourself crying your heart out, but you realize that it has taken a really crummy situation into something beautiful. It is going to be an amazing movie. I’m glad that I read it before it comes to theaters because if the movie is anything like the story that came to life in my head, it’s going to be awesome. I’m excited Indiana is going to get some positive press instead of the negative it has been receiving lately.

So to summarize, read this book! It is a once-in-a-lifetime read. It is epic. It is sad. It is beautiful. It is “all the colors in one, at full brightness.”

 

 

five-stars

Origin by Jennifer Armentrout | Cover Reveal

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=2d8c77e98a&view=att&th=13f97c25be784408&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=f_hikyksrq0&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P94XTP0Tu6FqcviWKWHrpah&sadet=1372641502777&sads=wCw3tvhlaRbE2jZcz6HwxhHFl3g 
The Cover reveal for Origin is here and it is HOT HOT HOT! Whoa, boy. Daemon can walk like that towards me anytime.
Don’t know what Origin is about? Here is the blurb:
Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.
After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.
All Katy can do is survive.
Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?Together, they can face anything. But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? And will they even be together?

Origin is book #4 of the Lux series. For those heavy adult romance readers, this is considered YA (young adult,) but it’s awesomeness is still astounding. 

Want to read the series?  Find books #1-3 here:
 
Shadows- This is a Prequel book $2.99
 
Obsidian Book 1 $4.99
 
Onyx Book 2 $4.99
 
Opal Book 3 $4.99
https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/u/0/?ui=2&ik=2d8c77e98a&view=att&th=13f97c25be784408&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=f_hikyksrq0&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P94XTP0Tu6FqcviWKWHrpah&sadet=1372641502777&sads=wCw3tvhlaRbE2jZcz6HwxhHFl3g 
Origin Book 4  $5.69 <—- just revealed released 8.27.2013
There will be a book #5. Title not known  
Want to know a little bit more about Jennifer? I met her at RT13 and she was so sweet. Here is the official blurb about her and all the niceties, but I swear, she really is awesome.  
#1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.

Connect with Jennifer:

 

 

Book Review | The Selection

 

From the back of the book: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks. Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.
My take away: What a refreshing read. I have been stuck in the world of contemporary romance with tons of angst and I’m so glad that our book club chose this book.
I do love a good dystopian world read. In this world, WW4 has happened and from what I understand, the United States/North America has been changed to Illea.
When the country has an available prince, his wife will be an available girl that has been chosen via a lottery system. Each of the 35 girls live at the palace, for an undetermined amount of time while the prince narrows the girls down to that final girl. It is very Bachelor style.
America loves Aspen, but he know that he is below her caste and doesn’t want to give her that life. While she is at the palace, she is honest with prince Maxon and tells him that she is already in love with someone else and will be his friend. From there their friendship blossoms……should I say?
The farther I get into the book, the more I find myself rooting for prince Maxon. He is a polite, caring, gentle human that seems to really care for the girls.
America finds herself trying not to fall for the prince and keeps reassuring herself that she loves Aspen. Will she be able to keep her heart only for Aspen or will feelings of love develop for the Prince?

The next installment of the book, The Elite, will be available April 23rd. It is available for pre-order now. There is also a novella that is 55 pages long titled, The Prince, A Selection Novella is available now.

%d bloggers like this: