The Rook and Ronin series by JA Huss | 5 Star Series Review

This review of the Rook and Ronin series by JA Huss has been a long time coming. I consumed the whole series in a matter of days, completely consumed by these 3 bad ass boys. There are 3 books in the Rook and Ronin couple series, followed by 2 books about Ford and 2 about Spencer. 
The Books in the Rook and Ronin series are as follows:

Summary of Panic:
Because life so far – just sucks. Some girls get parents. Rook got the foster care system. Some girls get Prince Charming. Rook got an abusive frog. Some girls get lucky…

Rook got a second chance.

And she took it. Because when fate throws you a bone – you grab it with both hands and run.

Antoine Chaput knows the minute he spies Rook in his photography studio that she’s got The Look. The dark and desperate look he must have to land the exclusive TRAGIC media contract.

Rook is paired up with top model, Ronin, and he’s everything her abusive ex-boyfriend wasn’t. Patient, gentle, happy, attentive, and sexy! He knows exactly what to do to make Rook blush for Antoine’s camera.

Rook’s luck changes in an instant and suddenly she’s the darling of the modeling world. It’s a dream job to go with a dream guy and all she has to do is look pretty and follow directions. But there’s always a price to pay – and Rook is about to get the bill.

Series Review:
Rook and Ronin are not just about the romance. It is more about Rook leaving an abusive relationship and discovering who she is. I find that the romance takes a backseat to the story’s adventure.
Rook is not an innocent bystander in her life. She has her secrets. They are big secrets. They are secrets that get tangled up with the men in her life and set the pace not just for the first 3 books, but for all the books.
The boys in the stories, Ronin, Ford and Spencer all have their secrets too. They are weaved and woven around Rook as tight as a tapestry that develops into an amazing story.
The series contains witty banter that will make you sequel like a teenager and laugh out loud. It has moments of swooning and vetting for your favorite man to win. It leaves you confused as to who should win Rook’s love. It leaves you complete and happy for each character in the story. A full sense of completion and finality to these characters are felt at the end of Guns. 
I can’t discuss specifics without giving major plot spoilers away. Huss has a fabulous way of weaving the plots through these books, yet when you finished the first 3 of the Rook and Ronin series, you feel fulfilled for them, but wanting more of Ford and Spencer. Trust me, you will lust, lust, lust for the enigmatic Ford. 

Moving on to the Novellas:


Ford Aston is not too picky about what he wants out of Christmas. He’s not into this holiday—like at all. He doesn’t do presents, or family dinners, or parties, or church.

He does pets. And he’s got one lined up for Christmas Eve. In fact, it’s the highlight of his day. And if he can get through drop-in visits, nosy twelve year olds, an inappropriate conversation with his best friend’s girlfriend, dinner with a family that’s not his, and a party at his mother’s house—well, he might just get home in time to enjoy himself with a stranger and make it all OK.

SLACK: A Day in the Life of Ford Aston, is a prequel to TAUT: The Ford Book, and can be read as a standalone novella.


Spencer Shrike is a plotter. Known for his ingenious, albeit illegal, plans that keeps the Team running efficiently and out of jail, he carries this same love of order into his personal life. He’s kept his long-time main squeeze on the sidelines for years as he builds the Shrike Bikes empire.

Veronica Vaughn is an explosion ready to happen. Ronnie lives in the here and now. She lives for today. She knows what she wants, and she wants it now. And right now Ron the Bomb Vaughn wants Spencer shrike to leave her the hell alone. She’s done playing his game. She’s done waiting around. She’s moving forward with her own plots, plans, and dreams and she’s moving forward tonight. Ron the Bomb is finally—finally—gonna get some satisfaction.

Too bad Spencer Shrike is standing in her way.

Novellas Review:
I know that Huss says that these 2 books can be read as stand-alone’s, but honestly, I wouldn’t read them until you complete the Rook and Ronin series. At the end of Ford’s book, there is a major plot point that leads into his book and I feel like you shouldn’t go there. Look, Huss wrote the books in a certain order. I did read the novella’s after the Ford book and I wish I wouldn’t have. I feel like in Spencer’s book that you really need to meet him and Veronica organically through the Rook and Ronin series to really get their dynamic and how awesome she really is. Her character builds on the snippets when we meet her at the end of the series. 

The Plot Thickening and coming full circle books:
Book Reviews:
I’m not even going to put the book summaries on these because I feel they have spoilers. You need to know in each of these books, both these amazing men find happiness, and the thrilling story line of the Rook and Ronin continues. 
Please, please, please don’t read the summaries until after you read the Rook and Ronin series. PLEASE!???? Ford’s book is totes amaze, and you just want to punch, slap and kick Spencer in the balls during Guns. 
During Ford’s book we are introduced to some minor characters who will have their own spin-off books coming soon from Huss. I honestly can’t wait.

Let’s wrap this up:
  • Look, the Rook and Ronin series is recommended to everyone I know. 
  • Is it a romance series? Sure. 
  • Is it suspenseful and thrilling: Hell yes! 
  • Is it original? Yep. 
  • Were there twists and turns you didn’t see coming? YES! That is what I loved most about this series. It wasn’t completely fucking predictable. 
  • Of the 3 guys, who do I like as a book boyfriend the best? Ford. He is fucking funny in that banter that I like so much. 
  • Am I his type? Probably fucking not. Sucks for me. 

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge